Delta Hedged Portfolio question

Hello, I’m new to future and option. Today I came across Delta Hedged portfolio and I was very confused. If I have 1 call option, is it I need one future contract in order to build a delta hedged portfolio. Say for example: Simulation date: Mars 31st 2011 Using 10 000 call options on S&P500 whose characteristics are Exercise type: European Maturity: May 31st 2011 Strike: 1400 What should I do if I want to know how many future contract CME S&P 500 Futures I need to get a delta hedged portfolio. And say at after a month from the simulation date, what is the impact of the delta hedged portfolio if the strike of S&P500 go up or down (±1%,±10%). And do you think this portfolio is good? I am really appreciate for any help. Thanks

Options traders primarily trade options based on volatility, not so much about strike price (which they can more or less choose when they buy or sell the option. So if the implied volatility is higher than you think the realized volatility is (through some model or simplistically one might take the historical average), then you would sell the option because the premium is a little bit juicier than normal.

However, the option could still expire either in or out of the money, so just because you sold one with a juicy premium or bought one with a cheap premium doesnt’ mean you are going to make any moeny based on your good volatility decision (let’s assume that was a good decision, because volatility can change too.)

To avoid this, you would delta-hedge the portfolio, which means that you would hold an offsetting portfolio that is a combination of cash and the underlying asset (you can also use a future because a future+cash is similar to being long the asset, but it only works if the account sizes are large enough for a futures contract to work).