Suggestions to increase investment knowledge?

Hello,

I was wondering if you guys could recommend any books/blogs/websites I could use to increase my knowledge. Assume that I have very little knowledge of financial, economic and investment concepts. Also, website to keep up with the latest news in finance?

http://www.analystforum.com/forums/water-cooler/91335890

^ That’s a good start.

http://www.aswathdamodaran.blogspot.com/

http://www.valuewalk.com/category/value-investing-2/

Jeremy Grantham’s quarterly letters

The Economist

Bloomberg

WSJ

Reading the news is a poor way to increase investment knowledge… Too much noise. I’d probably be a better investor if I tuned out the news other than maybe quarterly reviews. Now if you’re a trader, that’s a different story. But trading =/= investing. My advice would be to start with the Bible, in other words, Security Analysis.

Agree with geo on the news aspect. Gunner, what are you hoping to gain from the knowledge? Is this for a position at work that you’d like to hold? Are you looking to analyze individual securities? Are you just trying to gain enough knowledge to build a sucessful investment portfolio?

The reason I ask is that there is so much material out there to read through and it would probably help people guide you in the right direction if we had more background info.

youtube warren buffet. watch all of his stuff. read intelligent investor. read barron’s. money managers go there and pitch there ideas. They’ll give their reasons show relative multiple analysis etc. And i feel that people are prefering ev/ebitda multiple over p/e ratio. wsj section for money and investing and marketplace.

The Random Walk Down Wall Street book is an all-time classic.