Did being a CFA holder make you successful at analyzing stocks and have you been successful?

I’m currently studying for the Level 1 because I have an engineering background and want to get into the finance world. I’ve always been interested in investing, and I was wondering if anyone here have actually been successful at analyzing companies after acquiring their CFA certification?

Was your path to getting a CFA just to help with your career or was this also a reason for you to get a CFA (to get into investments)?

as a (good) engineer you will be fine.

“Did being a CFA holder make you successful at analyzing stocks and have you been successful?”

Of course.

Duh.

wink

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAQA_29Htts

I certainly would say I have a much better idea of whats going on with my portfolio at any given time due to the program. Only through 2 levels but it certainly gives you the basics of running through a companies financials and getting an idea about the business and running the numbers.

Started investing my own cash a year ago and have done pretty well, how much of that is skill and how much is luck really? Who knows. The market has been doing well since I started so really you could have thrown darts and picked stocks and done decently.

I was pretty surprised when I realized the vast majority of CFAs don’t give a **** about investing. It’s just a career, pretend, shine shoes, comb hair, talk the talk, collect check. I talk to them about markets and real world stuff, and they stare blankly.

^ anyone who isn’t a major part of the investment decision making process is this way. as the cfa is increasingly becoming a requirement for wholesalers and other people person positions, cfas as a group are becoming less security focused. sad but true. hell there’s plenty of indexers on AF. how’s that for a lack of investing passion.

indexing =/= lack of investing passion

I subscribe to a little bit of both. Anybody else use core-satellite strategy?