Vanguard Life Strategy funds

I was looking to deploy some family assets with Betterment to get low cost portfolio theory; however, I noticed they raised their price from 15bps of AUM to 25bps. Doesn’t sound like a lot, but it puts them on par with better Hybrid robos.

I came across the Vanguard LifeStrategy funds (see link below) and it seems these might be an optimal and even lower cost alternative at just 15bps all-in. Betterment was 30-50bps all-in with the underlying funds.

https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/lifestrategy/#/?WT.srch=1&cmpgn=PS:RE

You definitely get the asset allocation, but I’m not quite convinced it does a good job of rebalancing (though it states the underlying funds do rebalance). Also not sure if I’d be missing out too much on the “tilts” (e.g. overweighing to value stocks, emerging bonds, etc…). I could do that myself, but I am going under the assumption we won’t re-balance appropriately and in-time.

Any thoughts?

I have no experience whatsoever, but the lack of replies tempted me to add my two cents. When the difference is just a handful of bps in cost, does the expense ratio actually matter that much? I’d just go to the solution that best meets my needs, even if it’s 10bps more expensive

If you’re going to try to do something that is 95% the same as Vanguard, you should just use their fund. It will save time, it will be more systematic, and the fee difference is small. You might be able to save 5bp by doing this yourself, but who has time to micromanage this tiny bit of your business?

I don’t have experience with Betterment, but I am pretty skeptical in general about these new age fin tech investments. Most of these seem to have some hidden risk factor that is under emphasized.