"Are you good at math?"

(The genesis of this is the “how much math do you need for CFA” thread.)

What do you answer when somebody asks you this? I never really know what to say.

I can add/subtract/multiply/divide fairly well in my head. I understand “please excuse my dear aunt sally”. I know what “a squared plus b squared equals c squared” means. I can calculate how much bigger a 47-inch TV is than a 37-inch one. So I guess I’m good at math.

But I know absolutely nothing about calculus, linear algebra, matrix theory, differential equations, or trig. So I guess I’m not good at math.

I suck a mental math. I wish I could get better at it. Thank god they allowed calcs on the exams

I suck at doing math in my head. People think that because I’m a charterholder and I work with numbers that I can look at a restaurant bill for 3 seconds, look up at the ceiling for 2 more seconds, and tell everyone how much they owe, including a sensitivity analysis for the tip %.

Never took calc so I pretty much punted the Quant section. No biggie.

Yeah that happened to me once where we were at dinner with a big group of people and they handed me the bill to divide up because I am a “finance guy”. I was quite embarrassing. I actually think I get performance anxiety if I am asked to do math in front of people. I fine when no one is around but if I have to think out mental math equations in front of people I get all flustered because I don’t want to embarrass myself. I just need to take my calc everywhere and put it in my front pocket…

I think the kids in school aren’t required to perform math in their heads enough times for it to become a skill. Calculators and now ipads are introduced way too early.

I remember we learned how to do multiplication by the end of the 1st grade and the HW for the summer was to learn the whole multiplication table by heart.