What's the more challenging part of CFA charter: All 3 exams or 4 years of work experience?

Completing all 3 levels - or doing 4 years of work experience [which counts towards CFA] - what is harder?

Money aside…would you study for CFA for 3 years, or do 3 years of work experience instead [if they were both optional!]

Also… What is the usual bump up in pay from your first to your second job (% or $ wise)?

“Remember there are no stupid questions, just stupid people.”

#MrGarrison #SouthPark

I don’t understand how you are smart enough to pass L3, but weigh questions like this in your mind. There are stupid questions.

I realize these are or could be perceived as stupid q’s (or I’m stupid). But I’m just curious as I’m new to the workforce (just a couple months in this industry) so I don’t know what it’s like to work for years. I can imagine, for example, that it must be tough to work 10-12 hours at a rigorous place like Goldman Sachs 6 days incl. Saturday for 4 years. Particularly tough if you have to pay 3k/4k NY rents, have children to support etc, student loan to pay off, mortgage etc. You might be working very hard because you know that if your performance dips, that could affect the position. If you’re working at that sort of place, I would think it might well be hard for the worker.

Also - a very smart book learner who can take tests may well find the CFA program levels easier than a job they unexpectedly find hard.

Just curious!

ACE, which is harder - swallowing a live gerbil or painting a realistic replica of “Starry Night Over the Rhone”? I know they are not exactly the same but I wanted to ask. This question weighs in my mind and kept me awake until 3AM yesterday. Tanks.

CFA Exams only take ~900 hours to study for. 48 months work experience takes ~10,000 hours. So by my calculations the work experiences is around 11 times harder.

If a picture paints a thousand words Then why can’t I paint you? The words will never show The you I’ve come to know