Stressful finance job...is it a myth?

So, I have been working at my current job for good 6 months now. The “training” period was approx.2months until I was let loose and could decide how my workdays look like. And I have come to a conclusion: I don’t have a real job. My team and I work maybe 30% (even that is a generous figure) of the time. The situation is similar to my previous job. I worked 2,5 years for a major European CIB and there were weeks when we barely worked. The weirdest thing is that my managers keep thanking me for my “effort, dedication and input” which leaves me flabbergasted as most of my day is spend 1. drinking coffee with my colleagues 2. reading news. 3. studying for CFA. For example, this is an extreme example, but I have honestly done maybe 3 hours of work since Wednesday last week. There simply isn’t stuff to do. We are so overstaffed. And I at least respect the working hours by coming in early and leaving relatively late…but there are BSD FMs who show up around 9:30-10am and leave by 6pm. I honestly do not understand why are we paid so much to work so little (no, I ain’t no millionaire…when I say “a lot”, I’m referring to an average dude working with an average salary).

My teachers, when I was in school, kept telling me that “work in finance means long hours, good pay and stressful life…make sure you’re up for it”…so far I have only experienced the good salary. Long hours? Stressful work? No way.

My question is this…do any of you have similar experiences? Is my work experience so far an anomaly?

We used to have lots of non-working people like that around here… what happened is they all got fired when the company realized they weren’t doing anything…