Financial planner - hourly or retainer?

So…I made the mistake of posting this on the Bogleheads website. It got the reaction that I should have expected. Nonetheless, I’m curious to hear from this peanut gallery. Let me know what you think.

I’ve mentioned on here that I’m a CPA in a tax practice, and I’m also a registered rep. (Please hold your applause.) I’m also a PFS and CFA, and as such, I can offer “financial advice” through my RIA. And after tax season, I plan to start offering financial planning services to our clients. (Just to note–since I’m an accountant, I can use the accountant’s exclusion as long as the advice is “incidental to the practice of public accounting”. However, that only goes so far. EG - I can tell a client that municipal bonds are not subject to tax, but I cannot recommend an asset allocation or a specific mutual fund. That is outside the realm of “public accountancy”.) I plan to use the “financial planning” umbrella to do everything that is not specific to portfolio management (asset allocation, asset location, security selection, and monitor & rebalance). This includes: - estate planning (will, living wil, HIPAA, durable POA, medical POA, financial POA, etc.) - retirement planning (estimating retirement budget, creating a savings plan, monitoring progress, spending strategies) - Social Security optimization (both in advance AND at the point of retiring) - insurance analysis (I have both a life & health AND a property & casualty license) - Elder planning (TBH, I have very little experience or knowledge in this area) - Philanthopy (split interest trusts, qualified charitable distributions, donations of appreciated stock) - Intergenerational wealth transfers (estate tax planning, postmortem tax planning) - Business succession (buy-sell agreements, key man life insurance) - Miscellaneous, but oft-overlooked things (e.g. beneficiary designations and 401k optimization) My question to the community is this–if you were my client, would you rath