guys what advice would you give a ucla student studying for an actuarial degree?

should he continue working at del taco as an assistant manager?

or should he find some office work shit even if its unpaid or with less pay?

i legitly want him to change majors. its like a tough major with tough job market.

Isn’t actuary like really specific? Maybe stick with tacos to prepare him for realities of the job market then.

yea it is. thats why it sso stupid. very specific and not that many jobs. like if u get a job its solid career. but if you dont hes looking at general manager at taco bell.

and its really hard as major. tehri tests are arguably harder than cfa exams nad take 5 to 10 years.

I got my degree in Actuarial Science many, many moons ago and worked for a bunch of years in life insurance. The exams are ****in’ tough: I started in 3rd year university and took a solid 10 years from first exam to Fellow.

The jobs are mainly in larger cities (insurance cos or consulting or even Big 4) or insurance hubs such that moving far has to be a possibility: the LA area doesn’t strike me as a big insurance hub. Some practice areas are definitely not growth areas, e.g. pensions, while others such as property/casualty, health, or life & annuity have better prospects.

It breaks my heart when I see students on the actuarial equivalent of the AF (www.actuarialoutpost.com :slightly_smiling_face:) talking about not being able to get internships, FT work, or even any associated type of work. The first thing employers will look for is # of exams passed, and even then you’ll be competing with a lot of other people with the same, or possibly more, exams. I would rather see your friend keep the Del Taco job to show real world working and management skills to complement the book learning: some actuaries are made managers just because they passed the last exam!!! :confused:

One last thought: Ay, mijo!!! :+1: for looking out for your friend!!