Executive vs General MBA- which is better

I have about 5 years of work experience. I am planning to do an MBA. I would like to know how valuable an Executive MBA would be as compared to a general MBA. Would it be to possible to make a career change into a leading i-bank, mutual fund through an executive MBA. Also what kind of work experience would be required to join an executive MBA course.

As far as I know, an EMBA is for people with more experience, and it tends to cost more (2-3x tuition of a normal MBA), often times schools will have dual EMBAs (in 18 months, you can get 2 EMBAs from 2 different schools…which in my view tends to dilute the degree somewhat) and its generally meant for people already in a management role rather then career-changers.

John09 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I have about 5 years of work experience. I am > planning to do an MBA. I would like to know how > valuable an Executive MBA would be as compared to > a general MBA. > > Would it be to possible to make a career change > into a leading i-bank, mutual fund through an > executive MBA. Also what kind of work experience > would be required to join an executive MBA course. I think a top, full-time MBA is your best bet for this. If you can’t do that because of your lifestyle (I can’t), a PT MBA and networking like an ugly hooker is your best bet.

From what you have shared, you are better off applying to a regular fulltime MBA. Executive MBA is targeted at seasoned professionals looking for a credential and network more than anything else.