I am in a need of good advice (to pursue CFA charter or not)

Hi everybody,

I want to figure out if I should pursue CFA charter. I used to think that passing all three exams would help me to get a foot in a door, nothing major just some sort of position (no matter how little) that I can build on but after spending some time on this site, It kind of confirmed what I already believed in and that is that it won’t help my chances.

Since, I am 28 years old and it’s too late to get into finance because most of the time people get recruited right after college and train them into specifics of the job and it’s been four and half years since I graduated from college, so I kind of missed that train (not for lack of trying). My feeling is that, they will always prefer candidates from top universities, even if I have all three exams under my belt because they’ll have age advantage and would just prefer to train them and there simply won’t be any room for candidates like me.

Another thing, obviously is that recession caused so many layoffs in finance (and everywhere else) that I will be competing with people who have tons of more experience and on top of that have either MBA or be CFA chartholder, for those same entry level positions, since it’s desperate times and having a job is better than no job at all. It’s either them or I will be competing who is fresh out of top university, in both cases employers will prefer them over me.

So, there are simply not enough jobs around for me to be able to squeeze into the industry lol… And me being in New York city won’t change that fact, even though it’s considered one of the financial capitals of the world but there is also tons more competition and I will be competing with the best of the world because too many of them want to be in New York causing too much supply of excellent candidates and not nearly enough of the demand .