"I'm studying for the CFA, so I'm staying home tonight." "WHAT THE HELL'S THE CFA?"

“I’m studying for the CFA, so I’m staying home tonight.” “WHAT THE HELL’S THE CFA!?” Isn’t this a conversation every candidate has gone through? lol!

I’ve explained it to someone at least once every week since I registered for the exam last October.

the best part is when someone who has no idea what the CFA is and compares it to an exam that they are studying for…like “I am studying for my mortgage broker’s licence so I totally know what you are going through”…it’s like yeah buddy its the exact same thing haha

sometimes i just save myself the headache and says it’s like a Chartered Accountant, but for Finance. usually they go away. It sucks when i have to explain it like that to people that are actually in undergrad business.

My friends compare CFA to a Series-7, which they could not clear and pretty much understand it’s a little less or equally difficult than an Series-7 exam… And I just laugh!!

Like a CA, but for finance… it’s the only thing that people understand, and yet still so painful to say. I at least got a “hey honey, does (our adviser) have one of those?” responded by “no dear” one time by family. Closest I’ve come to any sort of recognition without explaining.