just starting for dec 2007 exam...any tips to pass?

Hello, folks. I am just beginning to study for December 1 exam and am soliciting any study tips from those who have been there and crammed and passed. For complicated reasons, I *really* need to take this exam on the December date so I have no intention of bowing (chickening) out. On the bright side, I will have lots of time to work for the next few weeks. I am using the Schweser notes now (beginning with the Financial Statements Analysis) and am very pleased with them but have also heard about how important it is to do the CFAI readings and problems. Should I go through the entire curriculum Schweser first and THEN go through it again with the CFAI materials, or should I do this study session by study session?

I would definetly go once over all schweser notes since the cfa books are huge and you have a good chance of not finishing.plus I would go to church every Sunday cause you will need it. Not saying it’s impossible but it will be a big challenge for you I wish you good luck also FSA might take you a while so don’t get discuraged. what I did is study 2 books at a time, when you had enough of one you switch so you don’t get bored

Pray, seriously. Race through the Schweser notes (except for ethics and GIPS) as quickly as you can and skip sections you’re strong at, then read the CFAI ethics and GIPS. Fit in as many practice questions/exams as you can. Unless there’s something about your work experience or acumen we don’t know about, your candidacy is a delusional long shot. Hey, but worst-case scenario, just think of it as a very expensive practice exam.

Unless you’re getting paid $1 mm to pass the exam, no shot, see you June