Where to aim?

My goal is to be an equity analyst, but since I have no direct analytical experience (in consulting / bachelors finance degree) I thought it may be a good strategy to got a job as an associate or junior analyst and work my way up to analyst.

I recently applied to an associate position at a semi-boutique sell-side firm. I had one very basic, short phone interview. I thought it went well, but unfortunately they turned me down for a second interview. They didn’t directly say why, but is it possible that I was over qualified? I don’t think I’m hot shit because I passed two levels of the CFA, but the associate position I was applying for was basically doing channel work so I felt qualified enough for at least a second interview.

To be clear, I don’t expect anything to be given to me and I didn’t expect to get the job I just really couldn’t understand how I would not be qualified enough for at least a real in person interview. I also, feel like from the employers perspective that I may not be qualified enough for an equity analyst.

So my question is, should I be aiming at associate positions or analyst positions in my job search? I know you don’t have a pletheria of information but any advice would be much appreciated.

There is almost no chance you were overqualified. There are plenty of people ranging from college seniors to mid-30’s trying to get into associate roles, so unless you actually had prior sell-side or buy-side experience the overqualification answer is highly unlikely.

Either there was a misfit from a cultural perspective, or you didn’t sound like someone that came across the right way in the interview (i.e. you didn’t know how to talk the talk or you were flat-out unprepared). They may say they just want you to do channel work but they want to see that you have the potential to grow into an all-in research associate.