Buy-siders: Can you trade in your personal portfolio?

Hi – for anyone here that works on the buy-side here, can you trade in your personal portfolio? Or does your firm have strict compliance limiting how much you can trade, if at all?

I’m a buy-side equity analyst, and the hedge fund I recently joined has some very restrictive trading rules. They’re designed to be almost prohibitive to investing in your personal account. I understand that you don’t want to be front-running your fund or taking opposing positions. However, given that I already had a number of positions before entering the firm and not all of these positions are companies the firm invests in, I feel very confined by the rules we have in place.

Anyway, I’m curious to hear anybody’s experiences in this area. Also, have compliance restrictions on trading ever been a factor in your employment decision process or are they essentially a non-factor?

Worked at a Pension Fund. Just sent in trade requests to compliance for approval, and once approved had a minimum holding period of ~2 months. Could trade the index as much as you wanted, without need for approval.

Here you need to get prior approval and minimum holding period is 3months approx. Analysts (or any fund employee for that matter) have to disclose all their holdings when asked and can not invest in any stock which can be bought for the fund (i.e. which fulfill the mandate of the fund).

Work at a large bank, and we submit our trades for approval. We’ll get blocked if there’s been a recent change in opinion on the company. The blackout period is 7 days but we have no minimum holding period. Options are also allowed except on our own company. I’m on the credit side, so I’m free to trade equities on the companies I cover. However, I don’t feel comfortable doing so and will usually stick to companies outside my coverage. We also can trade indexes all we want without approval.