Engineering to Finance

Hello everyone, I’m currently a 22 year old solutions analyst at an administrative software firm in New York. I graduated with a degree in Chemical Engineering but decided to pursue a more business-y route. Now that I’m here, I’m realizing that I would like to move into the business sector more, but my business background is sparse.

Right now as an analyst, I mostly work with developers and product integration. I’m wonder what I have to do to transition into the business world, in particular finance. I was thinking CFA because an MBA is out of my budget, but I’m not sure what other education I can do on my own to learn more about business. I also don’t know how I would break into the business sector. Any advice would be much appreciated!

No one can really help you, because you don’t even know yourself what it is you want.

“decided to pursue a more business-y route” and “break into the business sector”

These don’t mean anything.

Find a finance role within some type of engineering firm. I’d expect this will be the easy way to cross over. Without any CFA or Financial credentials, you likely won’t get much traction in a traditional finance role.

I admit, that was poorly worded. I’m looking to transition into a financial analyst role. I enjoy researching and analyzing stocks, and I am in the process of creating my own portfolio. I’ve read through Graham’s “The Intelligent Investor” and am also going through his textbook “Security Analysis.” I’m finding myself becoming more passionate about finance and slightly obsessed with the market and researching stocks and bonds, to the point where I’m up late at night working on my portfolio.

I thought transitioning to finance would be great because I’m becoming really passionate about it, but without the education background I don’t know how to break into a financial analyst role. Would getting a CFA be beneficial?