Need guidance for a career in FP&A

I’m a BBA - Finance grad looking to work in FP&A. I have six months of work experience in an investment banking KPO. What further qualifications should I look to get under my belt?

Why IB to FP&A?

Why FP&A period?

CFO path possibly? If the company is big enough, you can make more than bankers easy. Although, your chances of becoming CFO at a Fortune1000 level company probably aren’t too good : /

Never seen someone who wants to move from IB to FP&A…

^look up what KPO does

CFO at med sized hedge fund…AUM of around 500mm makes around 800k a year all in. Senior Analysts/PMs make about the same money… Yes, the analysts are about 10 years younger than the CFO but 800k is 800k. Controllers at said firms make about 200k all in. Junior analysts make around 250k all in. Director of Finance makes around 300k. These are numbers I have personally seen and heard from fellow friends in the field.

Doubtful? if you are personal friends with a recruiters, ask for their internal annual data of salaries. Salaries they themselves placed according to fund size and position whether front or back. Their numbers will not be far off from mine.

Benefits of operations is that because you are in the back of the line, you are not the first to get hacked in the throat at a fund. At a bank, operations are first to go but not at funds - the front office is out then replaced when the time is right.

I assume you’d need to have good understanding of financial statements and GAAP stuff. Still need to do pro forma statements just like in IB and cash flow estimation and exptected IRR.