How do you beat the rich kids?

There’s this guy I know from college who was hired as a credit analyst for a big bank right out of college. I’ve seen he’s had a few promotions now (4 years later). And what I have a hard time processing is the fact that I did this guys homework in college (I was a tutor), he was the guy who never opened a book and rarely came to class. He came from an incredibly wealthy family. He never acted like a douche because he was a rich kid (rich kids exist, I get it, life’s not fair. But if you do come from a rich family, at least be a chill dude and fun to be around - which he was, he did check that box). But when I see life rewarding someone who barely tries at anything, I can’t help but become cynical. Guy’s driving a nice BMW, has a totally hot gf, homeowner, you name it. I don’t have those things, but I know I’m busting my ass. There’s some objective evidence I can offer to support that - I have recieved 2 ‘spot’ bonuses in the last quarter (above my yearly bonus. So, I’ve recieved 3 bonuses in the last year total. And, my boss has to go to bat for me to get those approved). And I get more and more responsibility in my role each day. So, the problem I’m having is, I don’t know what it takes to be successful in this industry. Doesn’t that guys work ethic reflect in his work? Doesn’t his boss see what I saw too? I doubt people just change after college and become a super hard worker.

I had to land my job myself, my parents offered no help. Is it even worth trying in this industry if you have no connections? The analysts on my companies due diligence team (#fintech) say I have always given strong interviews with them, but that they unfortunately hired the more qualified candidate (which they did, I get it, that was a fair decision). And there’s a few gals here who always refer me for positions outside the company, but I always lose the job to a more qualified candidate.