CFA, good idea for an engineer?

Hello.

I am 38 years old and i have a master’s degree in computer engineering. I have 15 years experience in the financial field in banks, financial software editor and family office. I am thinking about sitting for CFA (at least level 1). I think it is too late for December session (Even if i pass level 1, i think 6 months is not enough for level 2).

Do you think it can help me to find opportunities for my career development, and why not to find a job more in relation with the business?

I already have skills on financial instruments, market organization, performance calculations, …

Ur in computer engineering… you’ve chosen your field and subject and career. It’s too late to change it.

If you want to L1 coz ur interested in finance, then give it a go! However for a career change its a no no

Yes i am in computer engineering (head of little team), but dedicated to business (providing report, decision tools, return calculation, data control …)

So you think once you have taken a way, you have to stay 100% in this way? I will probably never be Head of investment, but perhaps i have a chance to find a place under CIO and nomore under COO.

If you have some finance background, Dec L1 to June L2 should be very doable for you.

Passing level 1 will improve your general knowledge of finance. It will not do much to open career opportunities. Unless by a career change you’re looking to do basic research and spreadsheet modeling like a 22 year old entry-level analyst.

Thank you for your straight answers.

I am going to negotiate the costs with my company.