My path to passing all three levels in 18 months

Hi everyone, long time lurker, first time poster here. I’ve been checking in on AF for a while now to get insights, tips, explanations, advice and all manner of information regarding the CFA program. It’s been a very useful tool for me and so I wanted to put together an in depth post about my experience going through the three levels in hopes that it might provide some insight, tips, explanation, advice and information to those of you just beginning your work, in the middle of it or nearing the end. I was very fortunate and was able to pass all three levels on my first attempt and in close to the shortest amount of time possible. The time between when I started studying for L1 and taking L3 was ~20 months. Exam 1 to Exam 3 was 18 months. What I put together below is an attempt at a walk-through of each level including how I prepared, the tools I used, my perception of the test itself and a recreation of my matrices. Basically, I want to provide others with what is one of many possible blueprints for success in this program – and I phrase that deliberately. There are many ways to succeed, this is just one of them.