MBA & CFA & no experience & poor economy

Thanks for taking the time to read. So here’s my story: Graduated from B.Comm Honors Economics and got accepted directly into an MBA - Investment Management program that is one of the few accredited by CFA to teach CFA material. In this MBA we used CFA textbooks for 90% of the classes and professors were hired to teach the material to us. In addition we also learned managerial topics common to a typical MBA program. As it stands now, I am in my last semester of the CFA/MBA - IM program and have passed level I (2006) and II (2007) and am registered for the level III (2009). So… The issue here is I have the learned skills and qualifications to work in the finance industry (at least at an entry level job) but no relevant job experience (I have worked at Investor’s Group cold calling but only as a cold caller not a Financial Planner). After Google-ing, talking, and chatting with friends I think I should be looking at entry level jobs like: Junior/assistant/associate analyst/investment banking But I have applied to these jobs and no one is responding. It’s been about 3 months now and I have revised my cover letter & CV (subject to the advice of friends, family, and interviewers) countless times but still no success. I’ve also recently added to my job applications a personal financial model (excel style) with Monte Carlo analysis to demonstrate my skills (I’m also working on a company analysis to include too that makes use of the excel model). My salary expectation is also low and realistic (30-50k). I live in Montreal and this city seems to be dead for finance jobs in my category, so I’m looking at Toronto. I’m kind of hesitant to move abroad for an entry level job… I don’t have kids or anything, I’m just a little stand-offish. What I need to know is: 1) Am I living in dream land in assuming I’ll find an entry level job in Montreal or Toronto by next December? Should I be looking elsewhere? 2) Am I looking at the right jobs to ap