Anybody over 50 years old candidate for CFA ?

I am 58 years old woman, candidate for 2013 Level 1 CFA exam. When I talk to people around me about my goal to get the full CFA certification, they sort of look strangely at me. This learning process is sort of natural for me since I always loved to learn more about investments in my free time.

Anybody else over 50 years old with the same challenge ? I feel lonely since most candidates in this forum seem to be young adults between 23 and 35 years old. So, this places me in the far end of the normal distribution.

I have a health science degree and health administration (master degree) background. Worked in the field for approximately 25 years. Then, turned to real estate brokerage for 4 years (which was the toughest job I had). Then, took a sabbatical to prepare for Level 1 exam.

When I received almost 3000 pages of notes from CFA, I really felt overwhelmed with the scope of the material. It is not really difficult but there is a lot to go through.

So, I decided to take it bit by bit and enjoy it. Up until now, I’ve put around 300 hours on ethics, quantitative methods, economics, equity and fixed income. Did all EOC questions of CFA and Schweser more than one time. Or until my understanding is pretty good. FRA and Corporate Finance are the next ones.

[link removed by admin]

I wish good luck to all of you, young guys and young girls.

LadySnowflake from Quebec, Canada

2 Likes

Good luck to you too!

I wish I could afford to take out a year to study for this full time - I really enjoy the topics but time forces me to focus on “getting through”…

All the best!

I just can’t imagine how hard it is on “getting through” with a job and kids. Everything happens that lets you lose control on the best study plans.

I rushed all my life with a job, a family and part-time studies. So, I really appreciate my actual situation.