How is your AM exam timing?

I’m consistently finishing the AM exam with 30 minutes to 60 minutes left. CFA paranoia says this could indicate a problem with how I’m answering the questions. I’m a little concerned that I might not be writing enough or may not be showing my work as thoroughly as needed to get full credit.

Are you finishing early, about right, or behind?

And for all you past exam-takers, did you find the real exam took longer than you were hitting on practices? I’m assuming nerves probably slow you down to some extent. Just looking for a general idea… maybe real exam takes +10-20 minutes?

Is this your first round through same AMs?

This is my first time taking all of them. Haven’t done any twice (don’t plan to – just 2x over the Individual/Institutional questions).

WOW I am over by like 10% …

I have not done any full exams so far, just question by question and timing them based on marks and so far on average 10% slower than I should be. I.e. 20 min one taking me 22 min…which basically means one big question on the exam not taking into consideration the fatigue of full 3hr session… plan is to do a full AM under exam conditions mid week and see how I do… could be I start thinking about next year’s exam… LOL

I haven’t figured out the exam, by any stretch (others scoring much higher than me) – but my timing has been good, at least. Here’s a few things that I’ve found really helpful.

Before you write anything in the official answer sections, jot down some notes (i.e.: sentence at max… usually 5-6 words) on each question within the margins before writing anything. This does three things:

1. It will allow you to gather your thoughts before writing and (for me at least) it’s helped me reduce the amount I end up writing since I don’t ramble on and on.

2. It will allow you to read the question basically one time instead of multiple. You can knock out the outlines of all your answers without re-reading as much.