How long does Charter application take?

Just submitted my application yesterday with my work experience and colleague references.

How long does it typically take for them to approve this?

Once this is approved and my dues are paid, can I use the letters?

Finally, once the above is done, does the Institute automatically send your Charter in the mail or do you need to specifically request it?

Thanks

Hey Rex,

Mind sharing why you applied for the charter? Wouldn’t it be sufficient to just pass the exams and then indicate that you passed all 3 levels on your resume?

Thanks.

Rex who did you ask for references?

I was a referee for two of my students and they got it approved within 24 hours. Mine personally took one month. So it varies.

Once you submit the application, you will have to wait for an email from CFA Institute that states you are now a charterholder.

IIRC the CFAI website states something about a 10 business days review period once submitted and I don’t believe they review until all your references are in. The good thing is that they email you once each reference submits and you can also check the status on the site.

It took around 24 hours for me over the summer – would expect it to take quite a bit longer now with the massive influx of applications they must be getting.

if i’m reading the site correctly, CFAI did their approval within a day or two but the local chapter has up to 30 days to review and mine is sitting there so I think it can vary a lot person to person based on the local chapters. I submitted mine the day the results came in (would have done it sooner but one of my references was busy and only got to his part Monday)

For me my resume is not important, I am settled in my role. I want to be able to use the CFA letters on my signature nad business cards. Can only do this if I am registered member.

I applied, and used 3 references from my work place with 77 months work experience.