3 Practice exams taken and getting worse?

I got through the material at the end of March with 8 weeks left before exam day. My general plan was to take 1 Schweser practice exam each weekend along with the CFAI mock towards the end. Each week I’d study what I got wrong, study the topics that I was doing poorly in and then ideally I’d improve a little bit each exam. Well, the plan so far isn’t going so well.

Exam 1: 70.8%

Not bad for a first exam. I felt like it was relatively easy --the problems I got wrong were dumb mistakes but overall I was pleased. My weak areas were FRA and Corporate Finance (60.4% and 60%) so I studied those all week.

Exam 1 Ethics 75.0% Quant Methods 75.0% Economics 70.8% Financial Reporting 60.4% Corp Finance 60.0% Portfolio Management 66.7% Equity Investments 70.8% Fixed Income 78.6% Derivatives 91.7% Alternative Investments75.0% 70.8%

Exam 2: 71.3%

Not the improvement I was hoping for, but again, I felt like this was a relatively easy exam. After going through the exam I felt like I made a lot of stupid mistakes and really need to tighten up. Both FRA and Corp Finance went up this week (66.6% and 65%) so perhaps there is progress. Unfortunately, this means other ares went down.

Exam 2 Ethics 80.6% Quant Methods 67.9% Economics 58.3% Financial Reporting 66.7% Corp Finance 65.0% Portfolio Management 66.7% Equity Investments 70.8% Fixed Income 85.7% Derivatives 66.7% Alternative Investments 87.5% 71.3%

Exam 3: 67.9%

Well, I feel terrible now. I felt like the exam was hard. There weren’t a lot of the gimme questions that I was accustomed to. Instead, there were a lot of tricky questions (for me at least) and I got a ton of ethics questions wrong this time which concerns me. Ugh. I just took this yesterday and haven’t gone over both exams in detail yet but I will be doing that today.