65% on kaplan mock- what's the best strategy forward?

Despite my efforts to study on weekends while on a full-time job, I only managed to score 65% on my first Kaplan mock which is very discouraging

I have three days left with full time studying (took 3 days of work leave)- should i try and complete as many mocks (all topics) or focus on certain topics?

I gave up on derivatives completely, but have read through all other topics

If I were you I would continue with mocks ( CFAI ones) and I would revise the material were I have wrong answers. Passive reading isn’t productive.

I agree with Gebura, just do as many of the CFAI mocks as possible. Granted, this is my first time taking the exam as well, so who knows if I’m on the right path or not, but through other exams, I’ve found that doing as many practice tests as possible (from the actual company supplying the test) best prepares you for multiple reasons. First and foremost, you familiarize yourself with the language the company uses and secondly, I have to assume that the topics tested in the practice test will reflect what is on the real exam. Just my two cents.

I’ll just echo what was said above, try the CFAI mocks! Personally, I found them to be easier than the Kaplan mocks - more straightforward

Does anyone have the previous years CFAI mocks by any chance?

did you end up passing?

Don’t hold your breath for an answer; this thread’s 7 years old.

(Note that there’s evidence to suggest that, eventually, he did pass.)

yes, eventually he did.
But after the recent result, these scores have no meaning anymore anyways.
I gotta admit, I am fairly discouraged regarding my exam in August now.

Don’t let the recent result throw you off your game buddy. It could be an aberration that CFA will take extra steps to avoid repeating again. But who knows.