A little guidance please! :)

Hi everyone, thanks for reading! I graduated with math & econ majors, and for the past 3 years, I’ve been working as an analyst in actuarial and banking environment. No finance experience whatsoever. I’m planning to swtich a direction of my career a bit and looking into finance jobs and CFA desgnation. My questions are, 1. When you get a job whose description says “CFA progress expected”, does that mean company pays for your exam, study manuals, online sample exams etc etc? ($1,000 is a lot of money to pay out of your own pocket!) 2. Will I have better luck finding a job after I pass level I exam, or I should just start looking already and telling them I am planning to sit for the exam (I’m thinking of sitting for December '08 exam since I do not have finance background and like to give myself plenty of time to study)? Any advice will be appreciated. :slight_smile:

1. CFA progress expected doesn’t mean that the company will pay for your exam fees etc. Ask your manager about the company policy regarding continue education. (btw, $1000 isn’t a lot to pay out of your own pocket if you expect the charter will get you a $100,000+ job) 2. Telling people that you’re sitting for the next exam means nothing. Passing level 1 will be better but not by much.
  1. Progressed doesn’t mean they will absolutely pay for it but 95 times out of a 100 they probably will. In my experience if a firm values the designation then often times they will pay for their employees to earn it. 2. Passing Level 2 will usually get you more looks than simply passing Level 1. Level 1 is very easy because it is general. The trick with level 1 is there is a lot of material that you need to know. Any progress certainly won’t hurt your resume though.