A swimming mind's latest thoughts

First, I have hated the spring/summer seasons for the past 5 yrs as I have been battling through this “Body of Knowledge”. Summer is no off time for my brain. I can not stop thinking about that morning session and how I had zero time to go back and fill in some areas on certain questions. That derivatives question was B.S. to me and if I had the time I know I would have nailed it. The afternoon session was scary easy to me - da**it, I hate that feeling!! Second, I have always finished what I started and will certainly not give up on this if August 19th is a gloomy day. Either way, I am already taking the 20th off to nurse a hangover. Third, I am a relationship manager at a private bank and do not manage the assets of my clients directly- it is the PM’s job to do so. I am looking for an out to possibly the institutional side. My experience is 6+ yrs in private banking with the first 3 in portfolio management (hence, the beginning of my CFA adventure). Does anybody have any suggestions of where to begin? Boutique? Capital Markets? Mutual fund? I know this is broad, but wanted to get anybody’s thoughts on where to begin. Bottom line: I want to put all my outside-of-work, self-study, effort to work for me. That is enough venting for now.

Why are you not happy just being an RM? Do you want to be able to touch money? This brings me to my own situation. I am in research and consulting but badly want to be in a PM role. But I feel that I dont have the personality for it. I am assuming that you need to somewhat of a trader’s profile to be a successful PM. But the real money is in managing it. I do make a very comfortable living but will never be ‘filthy’ rich.

I am lukewarm happy in my current role, but think I could be more successful managing money. However, my personality fits the RM profile. So, very confused at this point and think that the market conditions/lack of new biz has waned my enthusiasm a bit.