Accountant position qualify for CFA work experience?

In my previous position, I worked as a financial analyst with a utilities industry. I was mainly responsible for the following duties:

• Performed financial analysis and prepared financial reports and schedules included in the annual regulatory filings.
  • Built various financial models and played a leading role in reconciling monthly expenses with affiliate companies.

I worked in the financial reporting group of the operations division of the company. I understand the major feature to qualify for CFA work experience is to prove the position assists in the investing process and it looks like my previous position does not qualify. I went through some of the postings here and most people say it really depends on how you spin your job description when it comes to the work experience. Does my previous position qualify for CFA work experience? What are some qualifying work experiences for accountant position in the non-financial industry?

Thanks in advance.

I’m an accountant and my experience qualified.

Make sure that you relate it to the financial reporting that adds value to the investment process. You don’t have to make the investment decisions yourself, but you have to contribute to it in some way. Make sure you stress that in your work experience.

1 Like

Can you share how “preparing financial statements” adds value to the investment process? I know as long as I can explain that part, I can use my previous work experience towards the CFA but I just couldn’t think of any reasonable connections.

Preparing financials doesn’t add to the investment decision making process.