Accounting roles....

Hey Guys, I am graduating in May, and looking back at my university years, I have not pursued the right actions in order to break into a good Wall Street role or more specifically IB job. I was told that unlike finance roles which will be a particularly hard area to break into due to the myriad of issues we are facing, accounting jobs are still abundant. Anyways, my question is: Are accounting roles restricted solely to accounting majors? I know my school along with many others have special programs for accounting majors, so this is why I ask. I am a business admin. major with a finance concentration. Could I gain a role as an accountant with this degree or would there be a different area in a typical accounting firm that would be better suited for me? Of course, there is lot of course work that I have missed in terms of being ready for the CPA, which may present a problem! It is far from my ideal job, but I am thinking this may be one of the best choices for the situation I put myself in and perhaps it could enable me to move into an area of my interest after a few years. As always, thank you all for the help, Theo

in case you’re interested, i know that e&y has a program that allows non-accounting majors to join the firm and get yours masters in accounting at either uva or notre dame. after you finish, you’re committed to working three more years to pay it off. and that’s to do audit, by the way. but there are other roles at the big firms (or some smaller firms for that matter) that will be better experience, like business valuation or m&a advisory.

Because valution of illiquid/complex securities is such a hot topic right now, try to get a pricing role… And you don’t need an accounting background to do accounting at a non-accounting firm (i.e. Back office role at a fund, fund accounting, etc.).