Advice for a junior in College?

Hello everyone, I just joined this forum and this is my first time posting. I’m a junior studying CS and Stats at Cal, I should be looking at a GPA of ~3.4-3.5. I am currently a CFA Level I candidate(exam in Dec). My long term career goal is to become a financial analyst on the buy side and eventually become a portfolio manager.

I have an internship offer from Blackrock to work in their Aladdin group. For those of you who don’t know what Aladdin is(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BlackRock#Aladdin_Trading_Network), it’s their in-house investment management platform that they lease out to other companies.

Currently, I’m debating whether or not to accept this offer. On the plus side, it’s a job with Blackrock, a brand name in the financial industry and I might get to meet people who are in analyst roles. However, it is after all a back-office position and I obviously won’t be getting the opportunity to analyze equties/assets etc. and more importantly I’m worried it might cause employers to pigeonhole me as a “back-office tech guy”. I have 2 main questions.

1. Should I accept the offer or not? (I have no other outstanding offers currently).

2. How can a junior in college like me really prepare himself to land an analyst role with a buy side firm? I have to admit I have not really been big on any extracurricular activities at Cal but I’m hoping to change that for the next 3 semesters I will be in school by participating more in the student run investment club.

hey,

Blackrock sounds like a good little internship although I totally understand your fear of being pigeonholed as a back-office guy…

In my opinion if you want to get into the buy, you’ll need to prove yourself as a good stock picker and an expert in a particular field. Whilst at college you should be trading stocks, picking up alpha, understanding which funds, PE firms are doing well…That will give you some leverage on your CV when you get to interview at a buyside firm.