Advice for new level 1 joiners

I passed first time but i was expecting to fail. My results were not ‘fantastic’ but I scaled through with > 70 in 7/10 areas. Take note that: • I have an economics background and some knowledge of finance • I had little or no commitments - no job, no school (but still didn’t spend every minute of the day studying; I don’t know how many hours I did) • I started studying in January • I made a study timetable and tried to keep to it as much as possible • I tried to avoid jumping from subject to subject and spent some time on each book before moving on. • I couldn’t afford any of the CFA tutorials so relied on personal study (I would advice you to attend but avoid substituting it for personal study) • I browsed the curriculum (i.e read summary sections) and read schweser notes simultaneously (read weakest areas twice) and reviewed most questions and answers • I invested most of my time on fsa because of my weak back ground and I considered it one of the most important areas. I read curriculum book 2 (the only book I read entirely [apart from ethics]) • I read book 1 on ethics, first and last • I took 2 cfa mock exams about 2.5 weeks to the exam day and scored max 60 (at this point I was convinced that I would fail; it seemed like the more I studied the worse I performed on the practice questions) I think that this is the barest minimum you should do to have the slightest chance of passing (ofcourse it is given that you have a similar background).

Hi thanks for the input. This is a question really for everyone - but how did you go when you did the end of reading questions in Schweser? what scores are you getting either on the first try or subsequent tries? And how do you think the Schweser questions and CFAI Curriculum questions compared with the actual exam?

I want to know the answers to those too.

I wonder I can make it through with an engineering degree upon reading your advice.