Advice for taking CFA with a full/overtime job

Hey Guys,

Im a newbie, but I have been looking in this forum for a while. I need some advice on when would be the best time to apply for the CFA level 1 exam (June or December).

I just got hired to work for the Big 4 in Transfer pricing (about a month ago), but we have an upcomming busy season (January-end of Aptil). My supervisor said that I will be expecting to work at least 50-55 hours per week (lucky me). Do you think if I put up a 350 hours study time I would be comfortably ready for the exam on June? I guess this means having no life. would 15/hrs per week be doable? Or would you recommend to study with more ample time and suggest the december date. I’m in no rush, but if June is a possible date, I wouldnt mind doing it.

Thanks in advance!

You’ve got a lot more free time than many that write it. 350 hours is enough if you have some intelligence.

50-55 hours is a luxury for me!! I work 60 hours plus - Big Four Transactions team and currently signed up for Level III.

10 hours a day??? 50-55 hours is a joke for many finance folks. PLENTY OF TIME to study

If you are single with no kids or big family committements, then its shouldn’t be a problem.

If you are married with kids, its doable, but will require a lot more effort and sacrifice.

Good luck.

50-55? That’s a parttime job…

But yes, you sohuld have time to write in June. I say do it andif you don’t make it, you certainly will next December.

I would budget for 1-2 hours each day during the week, and then 8 hours each day of the weekend.

You were lucky. We lived for three months in a brown paper bag in a septic tank. We used to have to get up at six o’clock in the morning, study for the CFA, eat a crust of stale bread, go to work down mill for fourteen hours a day week in-week out. When we got home, out Dad would thrash us to sleep with his belt!