Advice from Level 2 Retakers who passed

I’m putting together my gameplan for next year and need some help.

1. how much does the material usually change. Should I invest in the new set of Schweser books or use the old ones from this past year?

2. I’m going to buy the new CFAI books when they come out and I re-register.

3. I studied probabaly 400+ hours from Jan to June, but failed Band 8, which is brutual. What were some strategies that people used who passed? I did all of the Schweser end of chapter questions, all the CFAI mocks from 2008 - 2011 scoring around 65%, and the schweser mocks at above 70%. Should I focus more on CFAI end of chapter questions?

I’m mainly looking for answers about whether I should re-purchase all the material for this upcoming year, or re-use the 2011-2012 material that I just used.

My secret to passing after failing fist time was rereading each chapter over and over again in excruciating detail…not the most time efficient strategy but w/e.

You may not wanna hear this but youy were quite unlucky. I put 300hrs since March and was scoring the same in fewer mocks but passed. It hurts but don’t give up. And yes repurchase. You get a fresher set of practice questions. Good luck mate.

Give up on Schweser EOC at the end of study plan and go to the harder staff - CFAI OEC - learn it by heart!

Learn by heart CFAI Mocks questions.

I used Schweser as main book but exam was really tough and covered more advanced staff than presented in Schweser. Focus on Equity - there will be for sure question on Residual income, DDM - etc.

Equity is relatively simpler than FRA.

If you do not understand hard questions on FRA (pensions), skip it.

Do not waste too much time on ethics.

Be focus during exam day (earplugs).

CFAI Exams are all about practising questions! Even Level 2.

Band 9 last year to pass this year so maybe my advice can help.