Advice on getting an equity research internship

Firstly, I would like to thank all the people who take the time to dole out good advice on this forum. I posted on this forum couple of years ago and got some very good advice. A little bit about myself - I’m almost 75% done with a part-time MBA in finance from a top-20 university (current GPA - 3.8). My goal is to enter the equity research field by getting an internship and then a full-time job next year. I have taken all the relevant courses such as Financial Statement Analysis, Equity Research, Fixed Income Research, Portfolio Management, Futures/Option/Derivative Analysis, Financial Modeling and Corporate Finance. In addition to my ongoing studies in the MBA program, I’m enrolled for the CFA Level 1 in June. I’m primarily a Computer Engineer/Scientist looking to leverage my experience in the software industry in investment research into software companies. Currently, I own my consulting company (an S-corp) in the software field which brings in approximately $150K to $200K every year from a couple of clients. I have also previously worked for a software startup, an established fortune 100 software product company, a supply chain software product company (competitor of SAP and Oracle), a software research and development company (military research) and of course my own consulting company. Btw, I’m 30 years old and will be done with my part-time MBA next year. With this being my background in finance and software - 1.) Would investment banks be interested in my background. Since I don’t have a previous finance background, will this work against me? 2.) What are the salaries in equity research? Can a first year MBA associate make approximately $100K a year. 3.) I’m primarily looking to leverage my experience in the software industry (as a customer as well as someone with an MBA in finance/CFA level 1) to make the jump into the investment research industry. Has anyone encountered a research analyst with this kind of ba