Advice on salary

Dear AFers, I am a fresh graduate and the Asian Director of an equity research firm sent me an email to arrange for an interview. In that email, I was asked to state my salary expectations. How do I answer that? Is it best to say that I am open to negotiations? Or is it ok to use the average salary of a fresh grad in the banking/financial services sector as a guideline, and say, I am expecting about 40,000 Singapore dollars, which is the average starting pay (based on the employment surveys done by all the 3 Singapore univversities) for a fresh grad in the banking/financial sector

definitely say negotiable

wow, how did u manage to even get an interview with them? I am still waiting for my door of opportunity to open…sigh Mind mentioning which firm it is? anyway congrats! u r a step closer to your dream :slight_smile:

It is not a big firm…the firm that I am interviewing with is GfK Equity Research. The team provides research on a growing number of technology sectors. The research consists of quantitative and qualitative views on demand in European and Asian markets for products including mobile handsets, GPS, MP3 players, PCs, printers, flat-screen TVs and their internal components and semiconductors.The role consists of providing research on the Flat Panel industry…I am not too sure, but I am thinking of whether if my understanding of the work in that firm is the same as that I have for that of the ER that you peeps typically ttalk about here in AF…

i guess you will know more during the interview itself…as a fresh grad, you have to start somewhere. btw, how did you manage to get that position? Am in the same position as you and frm sg too but no offers despite sending out numerous resumes.