Advice Please

Hey guys, I’ve been reading these posts for quite a while now and I finally decided to join. I had a few questions and I figured this would be the best place to ask. I graduated this year (may) from a competitive university program in the boston area with a degree in Economics and am waiting for the results for the level I cfa exam. Right now my job is in operations and I want to get out of operations asap and perhaps work under an equity analyst/ pm as an associate and then work my way up. If you were in my position, how would you go about your job search etc. Any adivce? Does the CFA help a lot? Would passing level I help a lot? I know you guys have years of valuable experience so your imput would be greatly appreciated.

cosign. i need some advice for this too.

From what I have heard here, and from charterholders, passing Level I looks great, especially right out of school, but will not open up a ton of doors yet. The big hump is Level 2, which I’ve heard is more of a distinguisher than just L1. Regardless, if you want research, start researching companies on your own so you have “experience” you can discuss in interviews and samples to send with your resume. I’m like you, just graduated with L1 passed and taking L2 this June. I look at it as what can I do now to make myself more apealing after L2 in 6mos. Keep sending resumes, but don’t settle with waiting for results or L2 in June. You don’t have to work at GS, MER, MS, etc. to be able to come up with great research that you can use 6mos-a year or to down the road. Unless you have an undeserving “I went to Harvard so I must know how to pick companies” title, show people that you can pick companies/research. Functional knowledge is alot better than book knowledge down the line. Good luck.

Also, send me an email if you’d be interested in a place to post you individual research online. I have a site made and concept but am trying to gather “starting” content. Matt noll87@hotmail.com