Advice please

Hi all,

Firstly congratulations to those of you who passed today and commiserations to those that did not. Anyhow, I am considering signing up for level 1 this June in Japan. I have very little mathematical background and looking at the material, quant, FI and FRA scares me a little. Due to having limited time, if I focussed my learning through Qbank and then cross referencing content I am unsure of in the textbooks would this be suffient? Essentially, does Qbank cover every possible area I could get tested on? Obsiously I am not epecting identical questions to come up in June but I am thinking if I can understand every question on Qbank and why the answer is what it is I should put myself in a good position. Is this a resonable and realistic strategy given the time constraints and my background? I think I can devote about 2 hours every day including weekends. Anyone using/used a stretegy similar to this?

Qbank is too basic. The questions are too easy in that.

If I were you I would look into getting the Elan practice questions as they are harder and closer to the style CFA present theirs in.

Saborio,

If you have no background whatsoever, and you goal is to pass all three levels and gain the Charter, I think its best that you use CFAI materials and not schweser because you really need to learn the material. While Schweser does work for some, it appears that it is mostly for people with the relevant background from their university years. Even so, many others complain that Schweser in general and the Qbank in particular failed to prepare them properly for the exam.