advise on an entry level job

i have no experience in finance…i am a level 1 candidate… i graduated with a BS in nutrition and currently a manager of a retail business… would i be able to find a job in anything that deals with finance? thanx in advance

*Makes popcorn. Sits back. Watches.*

no, not this year, except maybe a financial planner/advisor type role.

lol.

The thing is, everyone started somewhere outside of finance and then entered finance. Some may have studied it in college and then gone on, others were something else and converted, but nobody I know was born as a banker(or whatever). So it is possible to find a job in the industry as everyone else has done it. With that said, man you have a road ahead of you with that background. Ouch. I am not in HR but I would think the question would be “huh?” Good luck to you though, just keep pushing on and try not to get discouraged…but man, thats a tough boat to be in. Or I agree with newsmaker, from ads I have seen for advisors you are a prime candidate for a Financial Advisor job…blehhhhh

Yes, you would be able to find something in finance. I used to work for a large commercial bank, and they would hire just about anyone with a degree into their retail back office. Keep in mind this is retail banking back office, not investment back office or asset management back office. That said, I did know a guy who worked his way out of that, into asset management back office, and he can pass all three levels, will probably find a front office job at some point. (disclaimer: this guy did have a finance degree).