Analyst Positions; Please Review Resume

Can you guys please take a look at my resume? I’m starting to apply to Analyst positions at small to mid-size firms. Are there any issues you see? Are there things I should add or take away? Thanks! Link to Resume: Please disregard formatting issues, http://www.resumebucket.com/johndoeIII

Send me an email at d hyun 4 @ gmail . com I will send you a resume template. I’m not an expert, so this is all I can help you.

Zesty, it’s a good start. Your work experience needs more details though. For instance, take this line: “Performed financial reporting and variance analysis, risk analysis, profit/loss analysis for contracts and programs” You should present this stuff to show its importance. Instead of “Performed risk analysis”, think about saying “Calculated value at risk for $XX million in potential investments.” You could even say that your “Analysis was applied to realized investments worth $XX million.” This way, you can throw in some financial jargon (VAR), and you show that you are sophisticated enough to understand the importance of your work to the business process. Other parts should be more concise. Consider changing this line: “Directly managed a portion of Loyola University’s endowment with select students.” to “Managed a $k equity portfolio funded by Loyola University’s endowment”. This part also needs to be quantified to show your sophistication. “Outperformed benchmark, S&P 500 index, for assigned sectors on a risk-adjusted basis.” Should be “Outperformed the benchmark (S&P 500 Index) by X% with a Sharpe Ratio of Y.” Basically, go through the resume and try to figure out questions that the reader will have. Show that you are used to speaking financial language. Good luck.

Ok, got it; thanks guys!

Hey dhyun3, I sent you an email; let me know if you didn’t get it.

I got your email. Let me send it to you after work today.