Another bloody career question (private equity opportunity)

Ok, after spending a few months as an IB analyst at a garbage firm, I quit and was hired as a market and research analyst for a real estate shop. I actually like my job pretty well and the long-term prospects look decent. I’ve been here for 5 weeks. HOWEVER, an opportunity has arisen in those 5 weeks and I’m in the final rounds (who knows when the end is?) with, I believe, the largest private equity firm in the United States. Pretty much everyone here would know the name if I said it, so the firm carries huge weight. The job is a large boost in salary and job prestige, but a boost in hours from about 45-50 to about 55-60 hours per week and I’m studying for the CPA and CFA exams. The job would start in January, which means I would have been with my present firm for about 3 1/2 months and with the firm just before that for about 3 months. I can’t help but think that job hopping like this will lead to nothing but disaster in the long-run. OBVIOUSLY, job-hopping is not desirable; however, does a person pass up the opportunity to work with perhaps the most well known private equity firm in the western world to stay at a job that he/she is good at and likes?

what exactly will you be doing at said PE firm? it doesn’t sound like you will be on the transactional side (looking at a lightweight 55-60 hours). and if it’s really one of the big buyout shops, you wouldn’t be on the operational side or deal sourcing side either (you have no industry experience). my guess is that you’d probably be in a research role, but i can’t be sure. i’m just trying to figure out what exactly your role is…and feel free to post a job description if you’d like. i’m quite familiar with potential opportunities in PE but your post omits a ton of information. could probably help if you provided more detail.

How did you come across this PE analyst gig? kkent, you’ve come a long way… It seems like a PE research role.