Anybody ride a motorbike?

Does anyone here have a motorbike? I just passed my license and wouldnt mind some tips on a good commuter!?

If you just got your license, probably something cheap and not powerful.

ive been riding an old 125 for 2 years so looking at a step up - probably a 5/600cc that can handle the motorway a little better!

I would definitely consider getting one. I drove around in Thailand for a week on like 3 dollars worth of fuel. Amazing.

However, they are dangerous as Hell. Fine if you are single or have a big life insurance plan.

Old, cheap and reliable: 1980-1985 Honda CB 550-750

Newer, great commuters: Suzuki SV 650 any year.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suzuki_SV650

The 1999-2002 are great entry level bikes, very bigginner friendly and still fun after you’ve learned. Take passengers well, etc. The SV650 is widely considered probably the best beginner to intermediate bike out there. And it handles well so some people take them to tracks as well and use them as practice bikes. The 2003-2010 SV 650 is a pretty pimp bike as well, just generally newer and more improved than the prior generation, but costs more. Same positive characteristics though.

Another one I personally like: Yamaha FZ6

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamaha_FZ6

A very similar bike to the Suzuki, uses an inline 4 instead of a v-twin engine. Has the same basic idea in terms of characteristics, the older gen covers the same years (1999-2002). The newer gen is just an updated and slicker version. This bike tends to be a little more sporty with a more aggressive rider position (slightly less comfortable) than the SV650. They’re both crossovers commuters (half cruiser, half sport), but the SV650 leans a little more towards commuter / cruiser and the FZ leans slightly more towards sport.