Anyone here an actuary?

I have an interview as an analyst within an actuary group and I am curious as to what to expect. I will be doing stat and quant analysis for them.

I used to work as an analyst for a P&C actuarial group. Is this job P&C, Life, Pension? Whatever the case, expect some very smart people so come prepared.

I believe it will be mostly life with a little pension. I think my role will be the financial complement to the more statistical nature of what they do but I have no idea. I don’t think I will be asked to rip off some conditional probabilities in the interview, but who knows. If that’s the case, I am doomed already. Anything in particular I should brush up on?

I was until recently. I had a number of interviews at consulting firms and a major life insurance company and was never asked a single quant question. They’re mostly interested in gauging your character, seeing if you’re a good fit, personable, and where you see yourself in a few years. Also some industry knowledge couldn’t hurt, so do your research before and see if you can spot any newsworthy stuff to discuss. Then again, I had passed 2 exams by the time I was interviewing so maybe they assumed I was solid on the quant stuff. But I doubt they’d ask anything like that - to be honest I suspect most actuaries forget stuff like conditional distributions and stochastic processes as soon as the exams are over as they’re really not used on the job at all.

From my limited experience actuaries are pretty technical folks. I would be wary about going into interviews not expecting some very techinical questions, especially for an analyst role, within an actuary group.

They seemed to stress having the CFA on the description so if I get quant questions, I am guessing it will be of the financial nature, probably a lot of duration and hedging stuff. It is a laid-back company so it shouldn’t be too stressful. I figure the more questions I ask, the fewer they can get in.