Anyone work in treasury?

Looking to transition into treasury (treasury analyst or assistant treasurer) - would you recommend taking the CPA or the CTP exam? Some job postings require one and not the other so I’m unsure which would be most useful in my pursuit. Thanks!

I was a Treasury Analyst for a couple years. The CTP would be helpful for the role, but don’t do it unless you know for sure that Treasury is what you want to do as it is pretty meaningless outside of Treasury. I would think that you could get around these “requirements” if you have finance/accounting experience, and can show that you are willing to go for the CTP once you have the job.

Would the CPA help me break in? If not, I’d really like to avoid it if necessary. I have an unrelated undergrad degree and a masters in finance. I’ve fulfilled all the requirements for the CPA in my state so it’s just a matter of sitting for it…

It wouldn’t hurt, that’s for sure, but it’s definitely not necessary for the position (at the time, all I had was finance undergrad).

hey steph96, could you share a little bit about your treasury role, ie day to day functions, likes/dislikes?

I was at a privately held $4B company, so there were plenty of functions in our department. I enjoyed it, but after learning about everything, I got bored, realized it would take forever to move up & left. What I did: -domestic cash management - disbursements & collections. I had lots of interaction with our banks and subsidiaries, usually troubleshooting things that had gone wrong. It was often frustrating, but I learned a lot about dealing w/people. -cash flow projections - probably the most interesting & challenging thing I did. -investment decisions for excess cash - looked at various investment options, and recommended to Treasurer. This piece is what luckily counted as work experience for CFAI. I would have liked to do more with fx and debt – those are probably more exciting areas to be in.