Are there any engineers here?

I know maybe it’s not the best time to ask this question, but I was wondering if there are any engineers here and whether you’re working in the engineering or have transitioned to finance. If you haven’t transitioned, what are your plans in doing so and meeting the 48 months related work requirements of the CFAi?

I’m an engineer who has yet to actually work in finance. I plan to work for a firm that specializes in value investing, which I believe will have a new heyday due to lower valuations as a result of the bear market. Once I start working in finance, I’ll be able to start fulfilling the 48 month work experience requirement.

Good to know… Do you plan on switching after you pass Level 1? Level 2? Do you think that having passed Level 1 is enough credentials to land a decent job in Finance even though not coming from a Finance background?

I am Engineer too. Working in consultancy for construction business. 3rd Attempt for level 1, 25 this year and hopefully can change job after passing level 1 so that i can earn that 48 months of experience. From SGP. Cheerz =)

Engineer reporting in. Made a career switch upon graduation. Workin in finance now. Hope to nail this monster to leverage on my position =)

DiehardValueInvestor Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I’m an engineer who has yet to actually work in > finance. I plan to work for a firm that > specializes in value investing, which I believe > will have a new heyday due to lower valuations as > a result of the bear market. Once I start working > in finance, I’ll be able to start fulfilling the > 48 month work experience requirement. Overall valuations seems to be pretty fair IMO. What are you basing the your valuation belief in, out of curiosity?