Are you smarter than your boss?

I’m in second corporate finance gig since I graduated. So far, I’m not impressed with the intellects. It’s not like I’m some kind of genius, but that’s the point. I for one believe that I’m more versed in wider body of knowledge than my bosses. I’m particularly not impressed with their reasoning ability. We sometimes engage in political, economic and financial banter. I routinely make more cogent, relevant, logical and less emotionally motivated points. I also routinely use basic deduction to back people into corners where they have to accept my premise. Of course they get butt hurt, and eventually flip flop on their position. These are vets too e.g. controller, asst. controller and CFO. They are accounting experts i.e. know GAAP, FASB, and CPA exam material, with the exception of the items listed, they just don’t strike me as being particularly smart or well rounded. Also, why can’t some old farts just accept that their younger counterparts might know more than them about traditional disciplines i.e. money management, philosophy, politics etc. and not just hardware, software, the internet. This has been a source of frustration, because I don’t feel I’m learning as much as I could be. Also, it would be nice to work for people you admire.

I wouldn’t hire you.

Cool…

Do you mind sharing your age, Gouman?

I have no problem admitting my boss is much smarter and experienced than I am. I know someday I will surpass, but for now I am happy to have someone like that to learn from. Bummer for you, yay for me.

> I routinely make more cogent, relevant, logical and less emotionally motivated points I know your type.

hahahhaha i have had only 2 bosses who were smarter than me. my current boss doesnt even know what i do for a living. no exaggeration. we just meet once a week for 5 minutes and he asks me what i am doing and i could make up stuff if i wanted to.