Asking for a raise

I’ve been working in PE ops for about 5 years now and I enjoy the work. I typically last around 2 years with a company then switch to a higher paying role. The usual jump in total comp is about 30% every switch. I typically get 2-3% annual raises when I don’t switch. By the time the annual review comes around in March next year I’ll have around 18 months experience in my current role. Here is my issue. Again I’m seeing opportunities to get a 30%+ jump in pay but I actually like my current company and supervisors and I feel I can potentially grow within. I’m trying to convince myself for the first time ever to instead of just switching companies, I should ask for a raise to bring me up to atleast within 10% of what is being listed out there. How should I go about this? Should I wait until the annual review 6 months from now? Should I have hope that they will see my hard work and just promote me and give me the jump in pay? My worry is that i’ll jump ship and hate the new role and people. I’d much rather stay put even if it means earning 5-10% less than if I switched

If you can actually get the 30% jump, always get the 30% jump. Don’t talk yourself into a lower pay. Don’t overthink it. Pushing the base up higher is everything. Early and often. The rest (relationships, saving the manatees, etc.) is details, best saved for later.