Asking for raise after earning charter??? What %?

For those that plan on staying with their current employer, I’m curious if anyone is planning on requesting a raise once they get the passing results next week? If so, what is a reasonable increase in base comp to request without: a)selling yourself short, or b)looking like an a$$ who thinks way too highly of themself? As background, I work as a “generalist” investment analyst for a private wealth mgmt team at a wirehouse, have 6 yrs experience, and I’d be the only person in my metro area for my company with the charter.

Also, the team does a good amount of fee-based discretionary port mgmt so having a CFA charterholder on staff would be a plus from a “brand perception” standpoint.

Pass first… Don’t count your chickens before they hatch… Not to burst your bubble, but just being a realist…

i’d also make sure you have options. they’ll pay you your market value, it’s up to you to demonstrate what that is. going in there with nothing in your back pocket would make you look like a fool.

N.VanCandidate Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Pass first… > > Don’t count your chickens before they hatch… > > Not to burst your bubble, but just being a > realist… Ouch! Of course I’ll wait until I know for sure (and at least until I get the letter saying that I can officially use the letters), but planning for the best can’t hurt. (As an Ohio State football fan I am unfortunately used to big letdowns and waiting until “next year”, so if I have to sit again it’s not the end of the world.) As far as jbaldyga’s reply, I agree with where you are going with that, I’m just looking for a very general % bracket for CFA vs no-CFA chartholder for the same position.