Band 3.. need encouragement

I just got my results and got a depressing Band 3. I knew I was going to fail but I didn’t expect such a low band and feel totally dejected now… Any words of encouragement from fellow retakers who went through this phase would be highly appreciated. Also when do you think is a best time for me to pass the 2nd time round? Do you think I should start in July itself… cos I am not sure if I will remember everything I study now after a whole year.

Thanks!

I failed band three last year… Was initially thinking of not taking up again… Then I got a bschool admit so filled for L2 just before the deadline and sloggged for two months… Passed this year

congrats implex,

Sruthi, everything is possible. 400h and you will pass it for sure.

Sruthi,

my advice would be - definitely start in July but don’t spend too much time, pace yourself, then cram in the last 3 months. And don’t feel dejected - you tried hard, and you deserve props for studying. Now you are already familiar with the concepts so the next time will be easier. You could spend more time on solving problems instead of trying to absorb reams of new knowledge like you did the first time.

Thanks guys! Means a lot :slight_smile:

The reality is that 120 questions does not represent your true knowledge of the material.

I passed the exam after four tries. I think the first year I was band 2 or 3. Band 7 the second time, and 9 last year. I’m positive I could have passed the exam last year, except they seemed to ask about all the topics I hadn’t focused as much time on, and none of the topics that I knew really well. This year was the opposite.

You also have to keep in mind that the average intelligence of people taking level II is very high. Only very smart people make it even this far, and it’s graded on a curve. You’re still very smart… you’re just in a class of people that you’ve likely never competed against before.