bank valuation

Hello. Any body came across a decent book/website regarding bank valuations and how to build financial models for commercial banks? I have been a telecom analyst for the past five years, but now i am asked to value a bank, which would require major modifications to the normal financial model used for the valuation of telecoms or industrial companies. Many thanks

This might help you a little bit or at least give you a basic idea. http://pages.stern.nyu.edu/~adamodar/ Click Spreadsheets on the left Scroll down to the green/yellow colored section and there’s a spreadsheet for Financial Service Firms

night_screamer101 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Hello. Any body came across a decent book/website > regarding bank valuations and how to build > financial models for commercial banks? I have been > a telecom analyst for the past five years, but now > i am asked to value a bank, which would require > major modifications to the normal financial model > used for the valuation of telecoms or industrial > companies. > Many thanks I wouldn’t even think you could do “major modifications” to a operating company model to come up with a bank model. You’ll pretty much have to start from scratch. Just look at PEG ratios.

I don’t know squat but when I read bank valuations I see them focusing on book value and interest rate margins (NIMs?). Financials suck. Too many CFAs chasing them cuz it’s the only thing they think they understand.